In 1983, the Permanent Endowment was presented with its first gift in the amount of $60,000 from the estate of Ruth J. Bogan establishing the Ruth J. Bogan – Ruth Redding Memorial Fund.  This Fund was created to honor Ruth Bogan who, in the words of her friend Ruth Redding, was a “gallant woman who loved beauty, who loved the Vineyard and who believed ‘anyone can do anything.’”  In her letter of instruction to the Endowment, Ruth Redding requested that some funds be used to “encourage fine craftsmanship, creativity and ingenuity in many fields through such awards as gifts, prizes and scholarships.”  Based on that wish, the Permanent Endowment established the Creative Living Award to recognize members of the Vineyard community who embody the spirit of Ruth Bogan and have contributed significantly to the quality of life on the Island.

Since 1983, the Creative Living Award has honored those who have worked to “preserve and nourish” the Vineyard and to “help the present inhabitants to realize the value of their treasure.”  From artists to farmers and doctors to volunteers, the award has highlighted the accomplishments of individuals and groups who have served the Island community well.

The Creative Living Award evening also includes a drawing for guests to win the opportunity to award $1,000 to Island nonprofits.  This drawing is made possible by the eleven members of the Permanent Endowment Board who donate $1,000 to demonstrate their commitment to fostering philanthropy on the Vineyard.

2019IGI, Island Grown Initiative.
2018Clarence A. 'Trip' Barnes III
2017Heidi, Peter and Frank Dunkl
2016Johnny Hoy
2015Ann Smith and Francine Kelly
2014Steve Ewing
2013Rez Williams
2012Paul Brissette
2011Daniel Waters
2010Ross Gannon and Nat Benjamin
2009Helen Lamb and Camp Jabberwocky
2008Clarissa Allen and Mitchell Posin
2007Susan Klein
2006Russell S. Hoxsie, M.D.
2005MJ Bruder Munafo
2004Gus BenDavid
2003Art Buchwald
2002David and Rosalee McCullough
2001Stan Murphy
2000Bill and Kathleen Joyce Costanza
1999Peggy Pinney Vance
1998John R. Abrams and Debbie Milne
1997Peter Boak
1996African-American Heritage Trail of Martha’s Vineyard
1995Fae Kontje
1994Allen D. Whiting
1993Cornelia Mendenhall and the Red Stocking Fund
1992Mary Beth Grady and Allison Burger
1991Hospice of Martha’s Vineyard in Honor of its Volunteers
1990Margaret Hall and Sara Piazza
1989Margaret Love
1988Edwin B. Gentle III and Roxanne Jardin
1987Jean L. Silva
1986Harold Heeremans and Alison Shaw
1985E. Gale Huntington
1984Sydna White
1983Marion Halperin and H. Stanton Lair

Some of our Past Creative Living Award Winners

Photo: The MV Times, Lexi Pline

IGI receives 2019 Creative Living Award

| Creative Living Award, Grant Award Event, Grant Fund | No Comments

Dukes County State Representative Dylan Fernandes gave IGI an official citation from the Massachusetts Statehouse thanking IGI for their service to the Vineyard. The Permanent Endowment for Martha’s Vineyard awarded...

Photo: Mark Alan Lovewell / Vineyard Gazette
Allen Whiting, Trip Barnes and Ross Gannon share stories on the porch.

Trip Barnes Creative Living event 2018, a rollicking evening!

| Creative Living Award | No Comments

On a warm September evening, at the Agricultural Society Hall where he has been a long time trustee, Trip Barnes was awarded the 2018 Creative Living Award.  Trip's front porch and...

Photo: Mark Lovewell/Vineyard Gazette

Trip Barnes, 2018 Creative Living Award Honoree

| Creative Living Award | No Comments

The Permanent Endowment for Martha’s Vineyard is delighted to announce that Clarence A. Barnes III, as he’s known to truckers and state troopers nationwide, will receive the 2018 Creative Living…

Photo: Mark Lovewell / Vineyard Gazette

2017 Creative Living Award Event a wonderful evening

| Creative Living Award | No Comments

A wonderful evening was had by all at the presentation of the 34th Creative Living Award to the Dunkl family of Chilmark. Held at the PA Club in Oak Bluffs, over…

Photo : Elizabeth Cecil / Vineyard Gazette

Creative Living Award Winners!

| Creative Living Award | No Comments

2017 Creative Living Award winners, Heidi, Peter and Frank Dunkl are profiled by Mollie Doyle of the Vineyard Gazette in this wonderful article.   Reading this you begin to grasp…

Permanent Endowment for Martha's Vineyard - The Island's Community Foundation